Governing Board

This body co-ordinates the work of the Academy's top executives in conjunction with representatives from branches of science. Its membership consists of the leading officials and the representatives of each of the three major fields of study (i.e. mathematics and natural sciences, life-sciences, and social sciences).

The Board sets up standing committees to solve special tasks. These are: the Committee on International Relations, and the Social Welfare Committee.


László Lovász
F.M., Chair, President of the MTA

Beáta Mária Barnabás
F.M., Deputy Secretary-General of the MTA

József Bokor
F.M. Vice President of the MTA

István Fábián

Tamás Freund
F.M., Vice-President of the MTA

Miklós Szabó

Domokos Szász

Ádám Török
F.M., Secretary-General of the MTA

Tivadar Tulassay

Lajos Vékás
F.M., Vice-President of the MTA

Andrea Balla
Head of the President's Office, Secretary of the Board

Annamária Szabó
Head of the Secretary General's Office