Burgen Scholarship Awards presented at the Academy

Nine young Hungarian researchers received the award during the joint general assembly of Academia Europaea and the Young Academy of Europe. The award was named in honour of Academia Europaea founding president and world renowned physician, Arnold Burgen.

13 September, 2017

Traditionally, Academia Europaea offers the host academy of its general assembly, in this case the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, to nominate young researchers for the Burgen Scholarship awards. Hence, this year the scientific sections of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences were presented with this opportunity. The young nominees must all hold a scientific positions as well as produce significant and independent results coupled with an outstanding-level research programme.

Click to see gallery
source: mta.hu / Tamás Szigeti

This year the award was presented by Sierd Cloetingh, president of Academia Europaea on September 4. The winners were Éva Dékány, Éva Dóka, Balázs Enyedi, Gergely Maróti, Dömötör Pálvölgyi, Balázs Pozsgay, Brigitta Tóth, Péter Vancsó and Deodáth Zuh.

To learn more about the winning candidates please click here.