

The event is organized by the Semmelweis University Centre for Translational Medicine, the National Academy of Scientist Education and the Academia Europaea Budapest Hub.

DAN SHECHTMAN

Nobel Laureate in Chemistry (2011), Israel

He is the Philip Tobias Professor of Materials Science at the Technion, an Associate of the US Department of Energy's Ames National Laboratory, and Professor of Materials Science at Iowa State University. On April 8, 1982, while on sabbatical at the U.S. National Bureau of Standards in Washington, D.C., he discovered the icosahedral phase, which opened the new field of quasiperiodic crystals and lead to winning a Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2011.

DAVID WEINBERG

Editor in chief, Gastroenterology, Fox Chase Cancer Center, USA

His research centers on the prevention and control of gastrointestinal malignancies with a particular interest in biomarkers, chemoprevention, the cost effectiveness of clinical care and in novel methods to promote cancer screening utilization. He currently holds research support from the National Institutes of Health, the pharmaceutical industry, and philanthropic organizations.

DENNIS LO

Winner of Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award (2022), Hong Kong

He has been serving as the vice-chancellor and president of the Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) since 8 January 2025. His research focuses on the detection of cell-free fetal DNA in blood plasma, and he is best known for his contributions to the development of non-invasive prenatal testing.

JOACHIM FRANK

Nobel Laureate in Chemistry (2017), Professor at Columbia University, USA

He is a German-American biophysicist at Columbia University and a Nobel laureate. He is regarded as the founder of single-particle cryo-electron microscopy (cryo-EM), for which he shared the Nobel Prize in Chemistry. He also made significant contributions to structure and function of the ribosome from bacteria and eukaryotes.

TIM HUNT

Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine (2001), UK

He is a British biochemist and molecular physiologist. He discovered cyclin, a protein that cyclically aggregates and is depleted during cell division cycles and won the Nobel prize in 2001. In 2006, he was awarded the Royal Society's Royal Medal, "discovering a key aspect of cell cycle control, the protein cyclin which is a component of cyclin dependent kinases, demonstrating his ability to grasp the significance of the result outside his immediate sphere of interest".









PROGRAM OF THE SEMINAR LECTURES

13:00 - 13:10	Opening speech - Péter Ferdinandy
13:10 - 13:20	Laudation - Péter Hegyi
13:20 - 14:05	Presentation by Dan Shechtman
14:05 - 14:15	Laudation - Péter Hegyi
14:15 - 15:00	Presentation by Joachim Frank
15:00 - 15:30	Coffee break
15:30 - 15:40	Laudation - Bálint Erőss
15:40 - 16:25	Presentation by David Weinberg
16:25 - 16:35	Laudation - Péter Hegyi
16:35 - 17:20	Presentation by Tim Hunt
17:20 - 17:30	Laudation - Péter Hegyi

Participating at the event is free of charge, but you need to preliminary register if you would like to attend. In this case, please fill outthe registration form by clicking the link below.

REGISTRATION FORM

We look forward to welcome you at this prestigious event!

Kind regards,

tele

PÉTER HEGYI Director of the Centre

BÉLA MERKELY

Rector of the University