





To the Attention
His Excellency the Prime Minister of Hungary
Doctor Viktor Orbán
His Excellency the Minister for Innovation and Technology
Doctor László Palkovics
President of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences
Doctor László Lovász

Position paper of the European Academy of Science, Lisbon Academy of Science and the Portuguese Academy of Engineering concerning Academies independency

The Presidium of the European Academy of Sciences (EURASC) together with the Lisbon Academy of Science and the Portuguese Academy of Engineering have learned about reported movements of the Hungarian Government to bring the Hungarian Academy of Sciences as an independent scholarly body to an end.

The Hungarian Academy of Sciences was established in 1825, and it is widely recognised as an independent body that promotes science to the extreme of its excellency, sharing with academicians worldwide the same criteria of exemption, quality and scientific merit.

To promote its scientific equality activity, the Academy requires resources, as the ones that has been allocated so far, and be free to use them within its statutes and in respect of academic freedom on scientific policy issues with the sole criteria of scientific excellence. Restriction or failure to guarantee the basic operational costs of the academy will cause irreversible damage in the performance and reputation of Hungarian science.

Europe, for the sake of scientific progress, cannot abdicate of any of its most relevant recipients of knowledge - the Academies - performing under their own secular tradition as free and independent bodies of society.

The institutions above are obviously concerned with the fate of such an important Academy and kindly urge the prime Minister of Hungary, Doctor Viktor Orbán, to re-consider his decision and to preserve a similar paradigm for the Hungarian Academy of Sciences as those adopted by all fellow academies in Europe and across the world.

On behalf of the Trustees of the Academia

The Presidents of Academies

Prof. Dr. Fernando Pires Santana

Academia de Engenharia de Portugal

Prof. Dr. Carlos Salema

Presidente da Academia das Ciências de Lisboa

Prof. Dr. Rodrigo Martins
President of the European Academy of
Sciences

Rodrigo Martie