New members of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Twenty-six highly acknowledged researchers including three winners of the Momentum programme became corresponding members of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences at the election held on the first day of the General Assembly. According to the Statutes of MTA, members can be elected from among scientists who hold Doctor of the Academy or other equivalent scientific degrees and "who cultivate their fields of science on a well-recognised, extremely high and creative level."

In the process prior to the election of academicians, 141 Doctors of the Academy had been nominated for membership, and during the nomination process 40 scholars had received the necessary 50% majority of votes of their respective scientific sections. Finally, 26 of them had been elected as new corresponding members by the Assembly of Academicians.

     Four of the new members of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences are women, while three of them are former winners of the Momentum programme started by President of MTA József Pálinkás in 2009. Several new members are only in their 40s. 

     Besides the 26 new corresponding members, 31 full, 18 external, and 20 honorary members have also been elected to MTA. Below is a list of MTA's 20 new honorary members from various foreign countries "who cultivate their fields of science on an internationally recognised level and who can lay claim to exceptional appreciation from Hungarian science and scholarship".

New honorary members of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences

I. Section of Linguistics and Literary Scholarship

Patricia Easterling, a classical philologist, Regius Emeritus Professor of Greek, University of Cambridge; Fellow of the British Academy.
Main field of research: classical literature, particularly Sophocles and Greek drama. 

Juha Antero Janhunen, an internationally acknowledged expert in Uralic and Altaic studies; Professor at the University of Helsinki.
Main field of research: comparative linguistics.

II. Section of Philosophy and Historical Sciences

Dan Sperber, anthropologist, linguist; Professor at the Department of Cognitive Science and Department of Philosophy at Central European University, Budapest.
Main fields of research: cognitive science and pragmatics.



Arnold Suppan, Vice President of the Austrian Academy of Sciences, University Professor at the University of Vienna.
Main field of research: the history of Southern and Central Eastern Europe.  

III. Section of Mathematics

Saharon Shelah, Professor at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Member of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities.
Main fields of research: contemporary mathematical logic, model theory, and axiomatic set theory.

Jaroslav Nešetřil, Professor at Charles University, Prague, invited speaker of the European Congress of Mathematics, prominent lecturer of the Spring School on Combinatorics.
Main fields of research: discrete mathematics, logic, number theory, computer science, additive number theory.

IV. Section of Agricultural Sciences

Paul A. Barrow, Professor of Veterinary Infectious Diseases - Sub Dean of Research & Business, Faculty of Medicine & Health Sciences, the University of Nottingham  Main fields of research: zoonoses and microbiology.

Pere Puigdoménech Rosell, researcher, Director of Center for Research in Agricultural Genomics (CRAG) in Spain, Member of the Academy of Europe, the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO), the Barcelona Royal Academy of Sciences and Arts and a number of EU committees. Main fields of research: plant molecular biology and gene technology.

V. Section of Medical Sciences

Sir Michael J. Berridge, biochemist, leading expert in cell signalling biology, Emeritus Professor at the University of Cambridge. His activity comprises nearly all fields of life sciences.

Karel Svoboda, Professor at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, USA. Main fields of research: synaptic neurotransmission, and two-photon laser scanning microscopy (2PLSM).

VI. Section of Engineering Sciences

Hendrik van Brussel, Emeritus Professor at the Catholic University of Leuven, International Member of the Advisory Board of MTA's Institute for Computer Science and Control. Main fields of research: cutting dynamics, structural dynamics, robotics, mechatronics, computer-integrated manufacture (CIM), holonic manufacturing systems, micro and precision engineering. 

Jean Salencon, Emeritus Professor, Member and former Chairman (2009-2010) of the French Academy of Sciences, President of the Institut de France since 2009.
Main fields of research: soil mechanics, agricultural studies.    

VII. Section of Chemical Sciences

Hans-Joachim Freund, Director of the Fritz-Haber-Institut of the Max Planck Society, a founding member of the Scientific Council of the European Research Council.
Main fields of research: physics and chemistry of solid surfaces. 

VIII. Section of Biological Sciences

Werner Sieghart, neurobiologist, Emeritus Professor at Medical University, Vienna.
Main fields of research: biochemistry and molecular pharmacology of the nervous system.

Wolf Singer, Founding Director of the Max Planck Society for Brain Research.
Main fields of research: neurobiology, the analysis of neuronal processes in the mammalian cerebral cortex.

Axel Ullrich, Director of the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Honorary Doctor of Semmelweis University, and holder of the Debrecen Award for Molecular Medicine, Debrecen University.
Main fields of research: biochemistry, molecular biology, genomics, tumor biology, cellular signal transduction mechanisms.

X. Section of Earth Sciences

Bruno D'Argenio, retired professor of geology at the University Frederick II, Naples.
Main fields of research: sedimentary geology, marine research, paleokarstic and bauxite research.

Bernhard Heck, Full Professor at the Geodetic Institute, Karlsruher Institute of Technology.
Main fields of research: physical and satellite geodesy.   

XI. Section of Physical Sciences

Roy J. Glauber, a theoretical physicist, winner of the Nobel Prize in Physics 2005, Mallinckrodt Professor of Physics, Harvard University.
Main fields of research:: quantum optics, diffractive scattering in high energy particles physics and nuclear physics.

Hajdú, János, Professor at the Department of Biochemistry, Uppsala University.
Main fields of research: biophysics and structural biology, Laue crystallography, free-electron lasers, single molecule imaging.